Reviews

Our Customer Reviews and Testimonials from Google, Facebook, Instagram, TripAdvisor, Emails and other sources:

Can finally sit down today and send this message to say THANK YOU: the jumper arrived and it is gorgeous, am wearing it now! Such a lovely colour and a great fit, and so soft and cosy. It's so much smarter than most of my jumpers too!! Can't wait for the other one now!! ... 😊

Penny R Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 10/11/2020

My wool order arrived very quickly, it's beautiful, excellent value for the exceptional quality and the colours are absolutely perfect. Thank you.

L'Objects Qui Parle Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 05/11/2020

Just to let you know how pleased I am with the sweater which has just arrived. The fit, colour and feel of the wool are perfect. Please thank Beryl for her hard work.

In the 1970s while in Japan we met a distinguished Japanese potter who had been designated a National Treasure. When we told him where we came from he became very animated and said that he owed his life to a woolen sweater from Yorkshire which had prevented him from freezing to death during the war.

Having had one of your sweaters for many years now (still going strong) I know exactly what he meant.

Tom C Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 05/11/2020

My new jumper arrived today and I am absolutely delighted with it. I have been looking at it on your website for a while as I love the design and colour, but I was worried it would be too big. I decided to be brave and give it a go.

I am just thrilled. It is a perfect relaxed fit, and I love the quality of the wool, with it’s beautiful lanolin. So a very big thank you. I will be inseparable from it all winter. 😊💨🌨❄️☃️

Suzie C Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 31/10/2020

I want to thank you so very much for the beautifully packaged shipment I received yesterday!  Everything is safe and sound (my new mug!) and I cannot believe how quickly it arrived.

And the yarn!!! It is absolutely gorgeous! I love the vibrancy of the colors and it smells sooooooo good. I just can’t knit quickly enough.

Thank you so much! I just cannot adequately express the joy you have given me.

 

Christine H Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 26/10/2020

Wonderful service for Online Order to Italy

 

Ordered Wensleydale Longwool DK for a Gansey pattern designed by Martin Storey. Fabulous lady Kath organised everything so meticulously in spite of her busy schedule of shop plus many trade show commitments. Wool, 1kg of fabulous 'Fennel' colour plus other Wensleydale products such as soap, wool wash, lanolin cream etc arrived beautifully and efficiently packaged for the courier delivery. Kath deserves top star rating and a massive thank you. I recommend looking at her wool for any future knitting projects and supporting this wonderful product which also supports the rare breed sheep of Yorkshire. Buy British Wool and support these lovely sheep, from The Northern Isles south together with their guardians for the future.

Carroe TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 19/09/2020

Have loved this special quality wool since the early 90s. Now in it's own lovely small shop in Leyburn which saves going off track to the farm....

Lots of gorgeous colours and a selection of patterns. A serious knitters paradise.

Christina S Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 15/09/2020

Nona (kit) has arrived and the yarn is like nothing I've used before! It is delicious! I'm sceptical about ordering yarn I've never seen/felt/smelled! I'm so glad I ordered this!

Thank you! Gail L (USA)

Gail L Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 21/08/2020

Popped into Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop while in Leyburn this morning. I could have spent hours in that shop. It's not a big space but it is jam packed of gorgeous yarns, fantastic patterns, and amazing accessories and other items. They even have their own yarn crafted from beautiful Wensleydale sheep. I just couldn't see a need for aran wool today so I had to look past it (for now, I'll definitely be buying some online soon) and instead picked up this cone of gorgeous teal 💯% Merino at the bargain price of 500g for £20. Definitely got some projects in mind for this!!!
#menwhoknit

Chris M Instagram Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 01/08/2020

Nona jumper - LOVED knitting this. Easy to read pattern and I'm a beginner.

Liz G Instagram Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 04/07/2020

Just to say many thanks for my order which has just arrived - great service. Love the wool and hope to shop with you again.

M and B Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 22/06/2020

Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Kath who has gone above and beyond when I asked for help with my knitting. What took 5 mins I would have ruined. I would recommend this Shop to anyone of all levels and absolute beginners like myself.

 

Sharon H Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 22/06/2020

Found a perfect DK for a jumper pattern I have, really good colour range. Swift delivery and smooth ordering process. Thank you 😊

Emily G Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 22/06/2020

Can't praise them enough. Went out of their way to help me match up a much earlier batch of wool. Thank you.

Gillian Mc Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 17/03/2020

I'm so delighted with the speedy and prompt service I received from Kath today... in spite of the chaos and awfulness that the flooding in Leyburn and surrounding areas has caused this week, my parcel full of gorgeousness arrived this morning! I am beyond grateful and will most certainly be ordering again in the near future! Thanks again, I will spread the word...

Customer Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 17/09/2019

I know I've said it before, but I think the Wensleydale Nona Jumper is just about the prettiest yoke design I've ever seen.

Quinn P (USA) Twitter Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 04/07/2019

I am absolutely thrilled with the Bolders and Streams jacket knitted in Semerwater by 'Ann'. It is beautifully knitted and she did it so quickly!...

Lindsay S Letter Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 27/02/2019

In love with my new beautifully soft cosy knit! @wensleydalelongwool  #sustainable #ethicallysourced #handmade #madeintheuk #yorkshire #winterfashion 

Debra Stephenson (TV celebrity) Instagram Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 20/11/2018

I love the cardigan/jacket in teal Aran that I've just received from you. It's a radiant colour (though not bright), perfectly made, a good fit. It's just beautiful! I'm certainly going to keep Wensleydale Longwool in my mind, for the future.

Alison M Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 25/09/2018

Have used the website and the shop. Very, very helpful and knowledgeable. The wool is of a fantastic quality and the lustre of it amazing. It washes well, I washed it by hand, don't know about machine. Love the colours as well. In the past I have sometimes been reluctant to pay this much for wool. No more. I am sure I will be wearing this woolly for years, even though it is a favourite and as such will be worn a lot. Have been asked where I bought it!

PhilandJane S Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 28/08/2018

Beautiful shop for wool and woolly items.

This is a beautiful shop tucked away in the small market town of Leyburn in the Yorkshire Dales. I called with my husband in May and he spotted a sweater knitted in the Wensleydale Aran, the pattern is available from age 3 to adult sizes. I choose a marl grey/fennel colourway. It knits up beautifully and has a lovely sheen. The lady in the shop was so helpful and I will definitely return. Even if you are not a knitter it's definitely worth a visit. The yarns are well priced and of exceptional quality.

Jane C TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 31/07/2018

Beautiful Yarn and Knitwear Shop.

This pretty shop is worth visiting whether you are a knitter or not. The rare breed lustrous Wensleydale wool is available both as yarn and as finished handknit garments; and there are lanolin products and sheep themed souvenirs for those who visit out of cultural interest.

Ryan M TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 24/07/2018

A lovely shop, beautiful wool, interesting patterns, friendly staff - a great place to visit!

Kate L Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 28/06/2018

Visited this lovely shop and bought a beautiful sky blue jumper hand knitted by Beryl, I am delighted with it and am sure that I will be buying more in the future. I was almost tempted to buy some of the gorgeous wool and to take up knitting again but I know it wouldn't be anywhere near as good as Beryl's jumper! Thank you.

Christine W Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 28/06/2018

Just a quick note to let you know that my yarn order arrived today.  It is so gorgeous!  Thank you again for your time in putting this order together for me and for going to extra lengths to correct the error I made.

Barbara S Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 08/06/2018

I am so happy to have found the Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop in Leyburn while traveling through the Yorkshire Dales. The shop is beautiful, full of hand knit samples of patterns, weights, sizes and colors. A knitters dream come true. The wool is fabulous to touch and the colors are gorgeous. Of course I bought Aran weight which won’t help my backpacking needs for the next 7 weeks and a touch of 4 ply for my travel knitting, 4 beautiful shell buttons that match every color in the store and a seed stitch (my favorite stitch to knit) waistcoat pattern. I would go back in heartbeat 💕

Bea and Claire Instagram Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 07/06/2018

Just wanted to thank you for your wonderful yarn. I knitted a “Beryl jumper” for myself, it is such amazing quality and washes so well. Now I have knitted my husband a sleeveless jumper using your DK yarn. I have knitted him two of these before using different yarns and yours is by far the best. I will be buying more!

Gill D Email Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 30/01/2018

It was so wonderful to visit, shop & see the sheep. Fantastic trip to England...

 

Peggy R Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 30/01/2018

A delight, tucked away in Leyburn. Wonderful yarn, each skein a little piece of Wensleydale 🙂

Elizabeth V Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 14/12/2017

One of the best shops for quality wool, knowledge of wool, friendly and helpful staff, great welcoming atmosphere as soon as you enter the shop.

Sue L Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 14/12/2017

Fantastic selection of handknits, locally produced yarn and beautiful patterns.

Elizabeth V Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 14/12/2017

Great knitted products. My wife and I have been buying knitted goods from the shop when it was run from the owner's house a couple of miles away for some years. The business has new management and has new modern retail premises just off the Market Place in Leyburn - between Serendipity and the Posthorn cafe along the alley way to the car park. The wool and the knitters are the same so a great place to come for all your knitting needs and finished garments. My wife has also bought by mail order when having a garment specially made.

Sheepy G TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 15/09/2017

Lovely yarns, great service, what a find!!

Marianne S Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 05/08/2017

Great little shop with some beautiful wool products. I bought the most adorable yellow wool throw here and a fabulous pair of socks. I really want to go back when I have more money for things both pretty and useful.

Gregory W Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 10/07/2017

A fantastic place to buy locally produced high quality knitwear

The wool used is local Wensleydale and the designs of the knitwear are varied...and colourful... The prices here for all goods are very reasonable.

 

Sheepy G TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 27/05/2017

"Yummy yarn shop"

When away, it's compulsory to visit yarn shops - and this one didn't disappoint... what a lovely yarn - lovely owner...and beautifully laid out!!

Emma B TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 27/05/2017

"Wonderful World of Wool!"

I was so amazed at all this little shop carried! Beautiful wool, sheep's roving, and wool in just about any stage you wanted it.... I highly recommend this place to people who spin, knit, crochet, or just enjoy raw textiles and their making.

Poetess TX TripAdvisor Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 27/05/2017

Such a lovely shop with a wide selection of Wensleydale wool! The shopkeepers were so helpful and even the customers were lovely and welcoming. I felt right at home, 3000 miles away from my usual yarn shop. I can't wait to spin the gorgeous roving I bought!

Emily T-W Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 27/05/2017

I visited the new shop on Saturday and it looks fabulous, already decided what I want to knit next so look forward to returning.

Rosemary M Blog comment Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

Pleased to see with a Twitter presence and new website with online sales. One of my faves!

Louise Scollay (Knit British) Twitter Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

Crocheting another shawl. Love the 4ply I bought from the @WensleydaleYarn stall at Spring Into Wool. Lustrous & springy & makes lovely lace. And very reasonably priced too!

Woolly L Twitter Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

My wife and I own several sweaters and vests knitted of Wensleydale wool by several of the local knitting ladies. They are remarkable garments made from the finest wool I have encountered, including cashmere. Plus the folks who run this place are lovely people. (Saint Charles, IL. USA)

George T Google Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

Love your wool, fabulous to knit with!

Vivienne B Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

Beautiful wool in lovely colours. Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

Carolyn P Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

Visited in December and still thinking of the wonderful wool and friendly welcome.

Liz N Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017

Just been to the shop....such lovely things and so helpful.

Helen Q Facebook Wensleydale Longwool Sheep Shop 29/04/2017